Tuesday , April 7 2020

Ali Tareen announces ‘Multan Sultans’ to be remained the name of his PSL team

The owner of The Sixth Pakistan Super League Team , Ali Tareen announced on Sunday that ‘Multan Sultans’ will remain as the name of his team.

Ali Tareen announced that the name “Multan Sultans” will be retained, because the fans highly encouraged and voted for this. He also mentioned that there were two other options, ‘Multan Bahadurs’ and ‘Multan Malangs’.

“We took opinion from the people of South Punjab,” he expressed. “A vast majority suggested us to retain the name.”

The son of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s leader Jahangir Tareen said that the team refers to whole South Punjab rather merely just a city. This is the reason he considered the suggestions of people from Bahawalpur, Lodhran and Khanewal. All South Punjabis zealously participated in suggesting a name.

“My own favourite was Multan Bahadurs because you have to be bahadur (brave) in T20 cricket,” he mentioned. “But fans wanted us not to change Multan Sultans and we gave public opinion the importance.” I put my fan’s choice before mine, he added.

Ali Tareen bought the right of the Sixth PSL team by paying Pakistan Cricket Board’s reserve price of $5.21 million.

The fourth season of the PSL will commence from February 14 to March 17. Altogether, eight matches will be hosted by the Pakistan, three in Lahore and five in Karachi including the final of the tournament.


Check Also

Azhar Ali

Pakistan cricketers take on the push-up challenge

Pakistani cricketers are challenging their teammates to do push-ups as they stay indoors amid the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *