Tuesday , March 31 2020

Cabinet decides to continue travel ban on PPP leaders

Islamabad: The government has decided to keep Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) stalwarts in no-fly list, including Asif Ali Zardari, Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari, Faryal Talpur and Sindh Chief Minister Murad Ali Shah.

The  decision of retaining the supremos of Pakistan People’s Party was taken by the Federal cabinet in a meeting that was led by Imran Khan on Thursday.

During the cabinet meeting on Dec 27, 2018 it was decided that 172 suspects in the fake bank accounts and money laundering case are added in the ECL. The list also included including top PPP leaders and Bahria Town owner Malik Riaz, on the Exit Control List (ECL).

Supreme Court, however surprisingly  said that why the names of Bilalwal Bhutto Zardari and Murad Shah’s names are on ECL and urged govt to review the decision.

Cabinet during the recent meeting referred to this issue and reviewed the names it was at first decided that names will not be immediately removed instead they will be review case-by-case. The committe presented the report to the cabinet urging the removal of 20 names from ECL including the names of  those  PPP leaders.

However, Prime Minister Khan and his cabinet turned down the request and decided that names of top PPP leaders will stay in  no-fly list.

“The federal cabinet has decided not to remove names of Mr Bhutto-Zardari and Mr Shah from the ECL,” said Information Minister Fawad Chaudhry in press briefing

PPP has lambasted the the cabinet’s latest decision and termed it a “dictatorial decision”.

“The cabinet decision has not only exposed the ‘ugly’ face of Imran Khan but the fact that dictatorship is prevailing in the country which does not even accept the decisions of the Supreme Court,” said PPP leader Dr Nafisa Shah in a statement.

Check Also


Prime Minister gives orders to open all highways for the supply of goods

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Imran Khan ordered all national highways to be opened to eliminate barriers …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *