Thursday , April 2 2020

Justice Asif Saeed Khosa to take oath as CJP tomorrow

Islamabad: The top judge of the Supreme Court of Pakistan, Justice Asif Saeed Khosa, will take oath as the 26th Chief Justice of the country tomorrow (Friday).

Outgoing Chief Justice of Pakistan Mian saqi Nisar is set to retire today (Thursday) , he took over his office on 31  Dec, 2016.

New Chiej Jsutice Asif Saeed Khisa will take oath in a ceremony at the President House in Islamabad. His term as the CJP will continue till 20th December, 2019.

Justice Asif Saeed Khosa’s profile:

Justice Khosa was born in Dera Ghazi Khan on 21 December, 1954. He pssed his matriculation examination in 1969 from the Multan Board. He showed up in B.A exmas in 1973 from Government College Lahore at Punjab University and bagged the first position. He completed his Master’s in English language and literature from the University of the Punjab in 1975.

Justice Khosa then went to University of Cambridge’s Queens’ College, acquired a Master’s degree in law with a specialisation in Public International Law. Later he was called to bar on July 26, 1979, at the Honorable Society of Lincoln’s Inn, London.

He was posted as a judge at the Lahore High Court in May 1998. When on November 3, 2007, former president General (retd.) Musharraf declared emergency dismissed the constitution and demanded the judges of the superior judiciary to retake oaths under the Provisional Constitutional Order (PCO), Justice Khosa refused to abide by the presidential order.

As a result, he was sacked among other SC and HC judges.

On August 18, 2008, Justice Khosa was restored to his position as a High Court judge during an unprecedented mass movement to restore the superior judges who were dismissed for not retaking their oaths under the PCO.

Check Also


Federal government decides to continue nationwide lockdown until April 14

The federal government has added two more weeks to the lockdown period implemented by the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *